Skip to Content

Our People

LightWorks® Staff

Gary Dirks
Senior Director, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory and LightWorks®
garydirks@asu.edu
480-889-4820
Gina Gillies
Assistant to Senior Director, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory and LightWorks®
Gina.Gillies@asu.edu
480-727-7434
Ellen Stechel
Co-Director, LightWorks®, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
ellen.stechel@asu.edu
480-965-1657
James Miller
Professor of Practice, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Jim.E.Miller@ASU.edu
Ivan Ermanoski
Research Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
ivan.ermanoski@asu.edu
Stephen Goodnick
Deputy Director, LightWorks®, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Stephen.Goodnick@asu.edu
480-965-9572
Aleem Sheikh
Executive Director, Strategic Global Alliances, LightWorks®
asheikh4@asu.edu
778-929-9797
Julianna Gwiszcz
Research Assistant to the Senior Director, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory
Julianna.Gwiszcz@asu.edu
480-965-7643
William Brandt
Director of Strategic Integration, LightWorks®
bill.brandt@asu.edu
561-319-8293
Denise Rowe
Assistant to Bill Brandt, LightWorks®
Denise.Rowe@asu.edu
480-727-3862
Travis Johnson
Project Manager for Business Development, LightWorks®
travis.a.johnson@asu.edu
480-965-3326

Solar Electric

Stephen Goodnick
Deputy Director, LightWorks®, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Stephen.Goodnick@asu.edu
480-965-9572
Sayfe Kiaei
Professor and Motorola Chair in Analog and RF Integrated Circuits, School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
sayfe@asu.edu
480-727-7761
Matthew Fraser
Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Matthew.Fraser@asu.edu
480-965-3489
Christiana Honsberg
Professor, School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Christiana.Honsberg@asu.edu
480-965-2831
Nathan Johnson
Assistant Professor, The Polytechnic School, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
nathanjohnson@asu.edu
480-727-5271
Nathan Newman
Professor and Lamonte H. Lawrence Chair in Sold State Science, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Nathan.Newman@asu.edu
480-727-6934
Govindasamy Tamizhmani
Clinical Professor, Department of Engineering Technology, College of Technology and Innovation
480-966-1700

Energy and Society

Clark Miller
Associate Director, Consortium for Science, Policy & Outcomes
clark.miller@asu.edu
480-965-1778
Kristin Mayes
Professor of Practice, School for the Future of Innovation in Society, College of Global Futures
Kris.Mayes@asu.edu
Harvey Bryan
Professor, The Design School, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
harvey.bryan@asu.edu
480-965-6094
Elisabeth Graffy
Professor of Practice, School for the Future of Innovation in Society, College of Global Futures
Elisabeth.Graffy@asu.edu
Ronald Calhoun
Associate Professor, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Ronald.Calhoun@asu.edu
480-727-7032
Paul Hirt
Retired Professor, School of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Paul.Hirt@asu.edu
480-727-9084
Glenn Hoetker
Professor of Business Strategy, HMSTrust Chair for Social Innovation, Melbourne Business School
glenn.hoetker@mbs.edu
Martin Pasqualetti
Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
pasqualetti@asu.edu
480-965-4548
K. David Pijawka
Retired Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
pijawka@asu.edu
480-727-7319
Benjamin Ruddell
Associate Professor, School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems, Northern Arizona University
Benjamin.Ruddell@nau.edu

Sustainable Fuels and Products

Ellen Stechel
Co-Director, LightWorks®, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
ellen.stechel@asu.edu
480-965-1657
Bruce Rittmann
Regents Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
rittmann@asu.edu
480-727-0434
Abhishek Singharoy
Assistant Professor, School of Molecular Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Abhishek.Singharoy@asu.edu
480-965-0136
Jean Andino
Associate Professor, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Jean.Andino@asu.edu
480-965-0199
Alicia Bayon
Assistant Research Scientist, LightWorks®
abayonsa@asu.edu
William Brandt
Director of Strategic Integration, LightWorks®
bill.brandt@asu.edu
561-319-8293
Daniel Buttry
Professor, School of Molecular Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
dbuttry@asu.edu
480-965-2476
Allan Buyinza
Graduate Student, Chemical Engineering/Material Science and Engineering, Arizona State University
abuyinza@asu.edu
Peter Crozier
Professor, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
CROZIER@asu.edu
480-965-2934
Alberto de la Calle
Assistant Research Scientist, LightWorks®
alberto-delacalle@asu.edu
Shuguang Deng
Professor, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
shuguang.deng@asu.edu
480-727-7238
Gary Dirks
Senior Director, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory and LightWorks®
garydirks@asu.edu
480-889-4820
Ivan Ermanoski
Research Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
ivan.ermanoski@asu.edu
Elham Fini
Associate Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
efini@asu.edu
Justin Flory
Associate Research Scientist, Center for Applied Structural Discovery, Biodesign Institute
Justin.Flory@asu.edu
480-965-9938
Xiang (Michael) Gao
Postdoctoral Research Scholar, LightWorks®
xiang.gao.10@asu.edu
Henri Gerken
Research Scientist Sr, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Arizona Center for Algae Technology and Innovation
Henri.Gerken@asu.edu
480-727-5663
Giovanna Ghirlanda
Professor, School of Molecular Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Giovanna.Ghirlanda@asu.edu
480-965-6645
Devens Gust
Regents Professor Emeritus, School of Molecular Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
gust@asu.edu
480-965-4547
Travis Johnson
Project Manager for Business Development, LightWorks®
travis.a.johnson@asu.edu
480-965-3326
Anne Jones
Associate Professor, School of Molecular Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Anne.Katherine.Jones@asu.edu
480-965-0356
Rosa Krajmalnik-Brown
Associate Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Dr.Rosy@asu.edu
480-727-7574
Klaus Lackner
Director, Center for Negative Carbon Emissions, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Klaus.Lackner@asu.edu
480-727-2499
Yen-Jung Lai
Assistant Research Scientist, Swette Center for Environmental Biotechnology, Biodesign Institute
Yen-Jung.Lai@asu.edu
Peter Lammers
Research Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
peter.lammers@asu.edu
480-727-1484
John McGowen
Portfolio Manager (Research), Office of Knowledge Enterprise Development
John.McGowen@asu.edu
480-727-1472
James Miller
Professor of Practice, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Jim.E.Miller@ASU.edu
Tom Moore
Professor, School of Molecular Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Tom.Moore@asu.edu
480-965-3308
Christopher Muhich
Assistant Professor, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Christopher.Muhich@asu.edu
480-965-2673
David Nielsen
Assistant Professor, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
David.R.Nielsen@asu.edu
480-965-4113
Kevin Redding
Professor, School of Molecular Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Kevin.Redding@asu.edu
480-965-0136
Scott Sayres
Assistant Professor, School of Molecular Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Scott.Sayres@asu.edu
480-965-8284
Robert Stirling
Research Technologist, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A Fulton Schools of Engineering
Robert.Stirling@asu.edu
Michael Tamor
Executive Director, Hybrid Vehicles and Fuel Cell Research, Ford Motor Company
mtamor@asu.edu
Ryan Trovitch
Associate Professor, School of Molecular Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
ryan.trovitch@asu.edu
480-727-8930
Willem Vermaas
Foundation Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
wim@asu.edu
480-965-6250
Xuan Wang
Assistant Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
wangxuan@asu.edu
480-965-7789
Taylor Weiss
Assistant Professor, The Polytechnic School, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
taylor.l.weiss@asu.edu
480-727-1959
Steven Wilson
PhD Student, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport, and Energy, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Steven.A.Wilson@asu.edu
Mai Xu
Postdoctoral Research Scholar, LightWorks®
maixu@asu.edu
Michelle Young
Assistant Research Scientist, Swette Center for Environmental Biotechnology, Biodesign Institute
Michelle.N.Young@asu.edu