Skip to Content

Our People

LightWorks® Staff

Gary Dirks
Distinguished Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Director, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Director, LightWorks, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Julie A. Wrigley Chair, Practice of Sustainable Energy Systems, School of Sustainability
Professor of Practice, School of Sustainability
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
480-889-4820
garydirks@asu.edu

Gina Gillies
Assistant to the Director, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
480-727-7434
Gina.Gillies@asu.edu

Ellen Stechel
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Deputy Director, LightWorks
Managing Director, LightSpeed Solutions
Professor of Practice, School of Molecular Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
480-965-1657
ellen.stechel@asu.edu

Stephen Goodnick
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Professor, School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Deputy Director, LightWorks, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
480-965-9572
Stephen.Goodnick@asu.edu

William Brandt
Director of Strategic Integration, LightWorks
561-319-8293
bill.brandt@asu.edu

Denise Rowe
Assistant to Bill Brandt, LightWorks
480-727-3862
Denise.Rowe@asu.edu

Travis Johnson
Project Manager-Business Development, LightWorks
480-965-3326
travis.a.johnson@asu.edu

Joe Sanchez
Project Coordinator, LightWorks
417-619-7286
Joseph.J.Sanchez@asu.edu

Samson Szeto
Communications Program Coordinator, LightWorks
480-727-9867
sszeto@asu.edu

Solar Electric

Stephen Goodnick
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Professor, School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Deputy Director, LightWorks, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
480-965-9572
Stephen.Goodnick@asu.edu

Sayfe Kiaei
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Professor and Motorola Chair in Analog and RF Integrated Circuits, School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
IEEE Fellow
480-727-7761
sayfe@asu.edu

Matthew Fraser
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
480-965-3489
Matthew.Fraser@asu.edu

Christiana Honsberg
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Professor, School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
480-965-2831
Christiana.Honsberg@asu.edu

Nathan Johnson
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Assistant Professor, The Polytechnic School, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
480-727-5271
nathanjohnson@asu.edu

Nathan Newman
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Professor and Lamonte H. Lawrence Chair in Sold State Science, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
480-727-6934
Nathan.Newman@asu.edu

Govindasamy Tamizhmani
President
Clinical Professor, Department of Engineering Technology, College of Technology and Innovation
480-966-1700

Energy and Society

Clark Miller
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Associate Professor, School for the Future of Innovation in Society
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
480-965-1778
clark.miller@asu.edu

Kristin Mayes
Senior Sustainability Scholar, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Professor of Practice, School for the Future of Innovation in Society
Kris.Mayes@asu.edu

Harvey Bryan
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Professor, The Design School, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
480-965-6094
harvey.bryan@asu.edu

Elisabeth Graffy
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Professor of Practice, Consortium for Science, Policy and Outcomes
Elisabeth.Graffy@asu.edu

Ronald Calhoun
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Associate Professor, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
480-727-7032
Ronald.Calhoun@asu.edu

Glenn Hoetker
Senior Sustainability Scholar, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Dean's Council Distinguished Scholar, Department of Management, W. P. Carey School of Business
Professor, Department of Management, W. P. Carey School of Business
Affiliate Professor, Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law
Faculty Fellow, Center for Law, Science and Innovation, Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law
Research Affiliate, Center for Organizational Research and Design, College of Public Service & Community Solutions
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
480-965-4566
Glenn.Hoetker@asu.edu

Martin Pasqualetti
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Co-Director, Energy Policy Innovation Council
480-965-4548
pasqualetti@asu.edu

K. David Pijawka
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
480-727-7319
pijawka@asu.edu

Benjamin Ruddell
Senior Sustainability Fellow, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Associate Professor, School of Informatics, Computing, and Cyber Systems, Northern Arizona University
Benjamin.Ruddell@nau.edu

Sustainable Fuels and Products

Ellen Stechel
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Deputy Director, LightWorks
Managing Director, LightSpeed Solutions
Professor of Practice, School of Molecular Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
480-965-1657
ellen.stechel@asu.edu

Bruce Rittmann
Distinguished Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Regents' Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Director, Swette Center for Environmental Biotechnology, Biodesign Institute
480-727-0434
rittmann@asu.edu

Daniel Buttry
Chair & Professor, School of Molecular Sciences
480-965-2476
dbuttry@asu.edu

Thomas Dempster
Assoc Research Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Arizona Center for Algae Technology and Innovation
480-727-5415
Thomas.Dempster@asu.edu

Gary Dirks
Distinguished Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Director, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Director, LightWorks, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Julie A. Wrigley Chair, Practice of Sustainable Energy Systems, School of Sustainability
Professor of Practice, School of Sustainability
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
480-889-4820
garydirks@asu.edu

Henri Gerken
Research Scientist Sr, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Arizona Center for Algae Technology and Innovation
480-727-5663
Henri.Gerken@asu.edu

Devens Gust
Distinguished Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Regent's Professor Emeritus, School of Molecular Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Foundation Professor, School of Molecular Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
480-965-4547
gust@asu.edu

Adriene Jenik
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Professor, School of Art, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
Katherine K Herberger Endowed Chair in Fine Arts, School of Art, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
Affiliate Faculty, School for the Future of Innovation in Society
480-965-1696
Adriene.Jenik@asu.edu

John McGowen
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Portfolio Manager (Research), Office of Knowledge Enterprise Development
480-727-1472
John.McGowen@asu.edu

Tom Moore
Distinguished Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Professor, School of Molecular Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
480-965-3308
Tom.Moore@asu.edu

David Nielsen
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Assistant Professor, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
480-965-4113
David.R.Nielsen@asu.edu

Willem Vermaas
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Foundation Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
480-965-6250
wim@asu.edu