Skip to Content
People

People

People

Global Locust Initiative Directorship

Arianne Cease
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability
acease@asu.edu
Rick Overson
Research Manager, Cease Lab, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
rick.overson@asu.edu

Affiliated Staff

Andrea Wullenweber
Program Manager Research, Global Locust Initiative, School of Sustainability
Andrea.Wullenweber@asu.edu
Kelly O'Meara
Lab Manager, Locust and Grasshopper Research Center, School of Sustainability/School of Life Sciences
Komeara1@asu.edu
480-965-7735
Alana Burnham
Senegal Community Outreach Specialist, Global Locust Initiative
Alana.Burnham@asu.edu
Teddy Gonzalez
Intern/Undergraduate Student, Global Locust Initiative, School of Sustainability/School of Historical, Philosophical, and Religious Studies
teddy.gonzalez@asu.edu
Braedon Kantola
MSUS 4 + 1 Student, Sustainability Solutions, School of Sustainability
bkantola@asu.edu

Founding Council

James Elser
Director, Sustainable Phosphorus Alliance
jelser@asu.edu
Eli Fenichel
Assistant Professor, School of Forestry and Environmental Science, Yale University
eli.fenichel@yale.edu
203-432-5114
Joleen Hadrich
Associate Professor, Department of Applied Economics, University of Minnesota
jhadrich@umn.edu
612 626 5620
Jon Harrison
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
j.harrison@asu.edu
480-965-9459
Brian Robinson
Assistant Professor, Department of Geography, McGill University
brian.e.robinson@mcgill.ca
514-398-3453

Initiative Affiliates

Chris Adriaansen
Director, Australian Plague Locust Commission, Department of Agriculture and Water Resources, Australian Government
chris.adriaansen@agriculture.gov.au
Marty Anderies
Professor, School of Sustainability
Marty.Anderies@asu.edu
480-965-8712
Michael Angilletta
Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
angilletta@asu.edu
480-965-3500
Amir Ayali
Professor, School of Zoology/Sagol School of Neuroscience, Tel Aviv University
ayali@post.tau.ac.il
972-3-6409820
Edward Baker
Scientific Associate, Natural History Museum, University of York
edwbaker@gmail.com
Kevin Berry
Assistant Professor, Economics, University of Alaska-Anchorage
kberry13@alaska.edu
Lonnie Black
Biological Science Technician, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture
Amadou Bocar Bal
Docteur Ingénieur, HDR, Maître de Conférences (CAMES), University of Gaston Berger
amadou-bocar.bal@ugb.edu.sn
David Branson
Research Entomologist, Agricultural Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture
dave.branson@ars.usda.gov
Jerome Buhl
Senior Lecturer, School of Agriculture, Food and Wine, The University of Adelaide
jerome.buhl@adelaide.edu.au
Bing Chen
Associate Professor, Chinese Academy of Science
chenbing@ioz.ac.cn
Maria Cigliano
Head of Orthopteran Section, La Plata University
cigliano@fcnym.unlp.edu.ar
Emile Coly
Directeur de la Protection des Végétaux, Ministry of Agricultural and Rural Development
dpv1@orange.sn
Keith Cressman
Senior Locust Forecasting Officer, Food and Agricultural Organization, United Nations
keith.cressman@fao.org
Darron Cullen
FWO Postdoctoral Fellow, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
darron.cullen@kuleuven.be
Aliou Diongue
Head, United Nation-Word Food Programme (WFP) Maroua/Cameroon
aliou.diongue@wfp.org
Bert Foquet
PhD Student, Texas A&M University
bert.foquet@gmail.com
Jorge Frana
Researcher, Instituto Nacional de Tecnología Agropecuaria
frana.jorge@inta.gob.ar
Manfred Hartbauer
Associate Professor, Institute of Zoology, Karl-Franzens University of Graz
Maiga Idrissa
Entomologist, Agrhymet Regional Center
Stefan Jaronski
Insect Pathologist, Agricultural Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture
Stefan.Jaronski@ars.usda.gov
Larry Jech
Supervisory Entomologist, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture
Larry.E.Jech@aphis.usda.gov
Dan Johnson
Professor, Environmental Science, University of Lethridge
dan.johnson@uleth.ca
Le Kang
Distinguished Professor, Institute of Zoology, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Scott Kirkton
Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, Union College
kirktons@union.edu
518-388-6480
Carlos Lange
Researcher, Commission of Scientific Research, La Plata University
celange@inhs.uiuc.edu
Alexandre Latchininsky
Associate Professor, University of Wyoming
latchini@uwyo.edu
Douglas Lawton
PhD Student, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Douglas.Lawton@asu.edu
Marion Le Gall
Postdoctoral Research Associate, School of Sustainability
Marion.Le.Gall@asu.edu
Michel Lecoq
Former Director, French Agricultural Research Centre for International Development (CIRAD)
Omer Levy

Omer.levy@gmail.com
Tom Matheson
Reader in Neurobiology, Department of Neuroscience, Psychology and Behaviour, University of Leicester
tm75@le.ac.uk
Hector Medina
Coordinator, National Grasshopper and Locust Program, SENASA, Argentina
hmedina@senasa.gob.ar
Rob Melnick
Director, International Programs, School of Sustainability
Rob.Melnick@asu.edu
480-965-5233
Annie Monard
Senior Officer and Team Leader, Locusts and Transboundary Plant Pests and Diseases, Food and Agriculture Organization
Annie.Monard@fao.org
(+39) 06 570 53311
Nathan Moses-Gonzales
Executive Partner and Chief Executive Officer, M3 Consulting Group
Swidbert Ott
Reader in Animal Biology, Department of Neuroscience, Psychology and Behaviour, University of Leicester
so120@le.ac.uk
Brittany Peterson
Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences, Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville
bripete@siue.edu
618-650-2453
Cyril Piou
Scientist, French Agricultural Research Centre for International Development (CIRAD)
cyril.piou@cirad.fr
Mario Poot-Pech
Local Control Coordinator, Yucatán State Plant Protection Committee
mario.poot@cesvy.org.mx
Wilda Ramirez
Director, SENASA Argentina
wramirez@senasa.gob.ar
Stephen Rogers
Research Scientist, University of Cambridge
smr34@cam.ac.uk
Stephen Simpson
Academic Director, Charles Perkins Centre Professor, School of Life and Environmental Sciences, The University of Sydney
stephen.simpson@sydney.edu.au
Hojun Song
Associate Professor, Department of Entomology, Texas A&M University
hsong@tamu.edu
Gregory Sword
Professor and Charles R. Parencia Endowed Chair in Entomology, Department of Entomology, Texas A&M University
gasword@tamu.edu
Mamour Toure
Assistant Professor, Gaston Berger University-St. Louis
touresnfst@yahoo.fr
Eduardo Trumper
Senior Researcher, Instituto Nacional de Tecnología Agropecuaria
trumper.eduardo@inta.gob.ar
Jozef Vanden Broeck
Professor, Animal Physiology and Neurobiology Section of the Biology Department, University of Leuven
Rik Verdonck
Postdoctoral Researcher, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
rik.verdonck@kuleuven.be
Heleen Verlinden
Postdoctoral Fellow, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
heleen.verlinden@kuleuven.be
Cathy Waters
Senior Research Scientist, New South Wales Department of Primary Industries
cathy.waters@dpi.nsw.gov.au
Derek Woller
Entomologist, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture
Derek.A.Woller@aphis.usda.gov
Yoram Yerushalmi
Senior Lecturer, Technion Israel
yerushal@tx.technion.ac.il
Deanna Zembrzuski
PhD Student, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
dzembrzu@asu.edu