Skip to Content

Global Network

The purpose of the Global Locust Network is to connect stakeholders across interests to forge new partnerships that integrate and innovate locust research and management.

With over 400 members, the Global Locust Network has representatives from over 55 countries around the world who contribute expertise from integrated pest management, monitoring and forecasting, grasshopper and locust biology, landscape ecology, food security, social sciences and beyond.

Chris Adriaansen
Director, Australian Plague Locust Commission, Department of Agriculture and Water Resources, Australian Government
chris.adriaansen@agriculture.gov.au
Shoki AlDobai
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Shoki.AlDobai@fao.org
Marty Anderies
Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Marty.Anderies@asu.edu
480-965-8712
Erica Anderson
Graduate Research Assistant, South Dakota State University
erica.anderson@sdstate.edu
Michael Angilletta
President's Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
angilletta@asu.edu
480-965-3500
Jose Luis Aramayo Bejarano
Profesor e Investigador Asociado, al Museo de Historia Natural Noel Kempff Mercado - UAGRM
a_bejarano_echeverria@hotmail.com
David Ardell
Associate Professor of Molecular Biology, School of Natural Resources, University of California-Merced
david.ardell@gmail.com
Amir Ayali
Professor, School of Zoology/Sagol School of Neuroscience, Tel Aviv University
ayali@post.tau.ac.il
972-3-6409820
Nathalie Baena-Bejarano
Adjunct Researcher (Investgadora Adjunta), Alexander von Humboldt Biological Resources Research Institute (Instituto de Investigación de Recursos Biológicos Alexander von Humboldt)
ntbaena@gmail.com
Edward Baker
Scientific Associate, Natural History Museum, University of York
edwbaker@gmail.com
Hamid Bensaad
Directeur Général Adjoint, Institut National de la Protection des Végétaux
hamidbensaad@gmail.com
Kevin Berry
Assistant Professor, Economics, University of Alaska-Anchorage
kberry13@alaska.edu
Susan Bertram
Professor, Department of Biology, Carleton University
Sue.Bertram@carleton.ca
Alioune Beye
Retired Chief of the Nganda Phytosanitary Basis, Directorate of Plant Protection
toubabeye@yahoo.fr
Lonnie Black
Biological Science Technician, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture
Amadou Bocar Bal
Docteur Ingénieur, HDR, Maître de Conférences (CAMES), University of Gaston Berger
amadou-bocar.bal@ugb.edu.sn
David Branson
Research Entomologist, Agricultural Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture
dave.branson@usda.gov
Jerome Buhl
Senior Lecturer, School of Agriculture, Food and Wine, The University of Adelaide
jerome.buhl@adelaide.edu.au
Alana Burnham
Senegal Community Outreach Specialist, Global Locust Initiative
Alana.Burnham@asu.edu
Cecilia Catenaccio
Coordinator, SENASA Argentina
ccatenac@senasa.gob.ar
Arianne Cease
Associate Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
acease@asu.edu
Shantanu Chakrabartty
Clifford W. Murphy Professor, Electrical and Systems Engineering, Washington University-St. Louis
shantanu@wustl.edu
Bing Chen
Associate Professor, Chinese Academy of Science
chenbing@ioz.ac.cn
ShiNung Ching
Associate Professor, Electrical and Systems Engineering, Washington University-St. Louis
shinung@wustl.edu
Maria Cigliano
Head of Orthopteran Section, La Plata University
cigliano@fcnym.unlp.edu.ar
Emile Coly
Directeur de la Protection des Végétaux, Ministry of Agricultural and Rural Development
dpv1@orange.sn
John Connett
Insectary Manager, Integrated Pest Management Specialist, University of Wyoming Extension
jconnett@uwyo.edu
Keith Cressman
Senior Locust Forecasting Officer, Food and Agricultural Organization, United Nations
keith.cressman@fao.org
Darron Cullen
FWO Postdoctoral Fellow, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
darron.cullen@kuleuven.be
Amlan Das
Assistant Professor, University of Calcutta
dasamlan@yahoo.co.in
Gopal Das
Professor, Entomology, Bangladesh Agricultural University
gopal_entom@yahoo.com
Edward Deveson
Senior Locust Forecaster, Department of Agriculture and Water Resources, Australian National University, Australian Government
edward.deveson@anu.edu.au
Aliou Diongue
Head, United Nation-Word Food Programme (WFP) Maroua/Cameroon
aliou.diongue@wfp.org
James Elser
Director, Sustainable Phosphorus Alliance
jelser@asu.edu
Ruth Farington

Ruth.Farington@asu.edu
Eli Fenichel
Assistant Professor, School of Forestry and Environmental Science, Yale University
eli.fenichel@yale.edu
203-432-5114
Bert Foquet
PhD Student, Texas A&M University
bert.foquet@gmail.com
Jorge Frana
Researcher, Instituto Nacional de Tecnología Agropecuaria
frana.jorge@inta.gob.ar
Joleen Hadrich
Associate Professor, Department of Applied Economics, University of Minnesota
jhadrich@umn.edu
612 626 5620
Shuguang Hao
Associate Professor, Institute of Zoology, Chinese Academy of Sciences
haosg@ioz.ac.cn
Jon Harrison
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
j.harrison@asu.edu
480-965-9459
Manfred Hartbauer
Associate Professor, Institute of Zoology, Karl-Franzens University of Graz
John Hatle
Professor, Department of BIology, University oF North Florida
jhatle@unf.edu
David Hunter
Executive Director, Orthopterists' Society
davidmhunter100@gmail.com
Maiga Idrissa
Entomologist, Agrhymet Regional Center
Jaime Ivan Rodriguez Fernandez
Administration Counsel President (Presidente del Consejo de Administración), Bolivian Scientific Cooperative, Bolivian Entomology Society (Cooperativa Cientifica Boliviana, Sociedad Boliviana de Entomologia)
jaimerodriguez0001@gmail.com
Stefan Jaronski
Insect Pathologist, Agricultural Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture
Stefan.Jaronski@usda.gov
Larry Jech
Supervisory Entomologist, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture
Larry.E.Jech@usda.gov
Anthony Joern
Professor, Division of Biology, Kansas State University
ajoern@ksu.edu
Dan Johnson
Professor, Environmental Science, University of Lethridge
dan.johnson@uleth.ca
Le Kang
Distinguished Professor, Institute of Zoology, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Juan Pablo Karnatz
Producer and Treasurer, Confederaciones Rurales Argentinas
ypkarnatz@gmail.com
Kenneth Kemucie Mwangi
Remote Sensing and Geo-Information Analyst, IGAD Climate Prediction and Applications Centre
kmwangi@icpac.net
Scott Kirkton
Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, Union College
kirktons@union.edu
518-388-6480
Sunil Kumar
Agriculturist/Quantitative Risk Analyst, US Department of Agriculture
sunilkrv@gmail.com
Alice Veronica Lamwaka
Global Partnership and Engagements Officer, Gulu University
lamalicev@yahoo.com
Carlos Lange
Researcher, Commission of Scientific Research, La Plata University
celange@inhs.uiuc.edu
Alexandre Latchininsky
Associate Professor, University of Wyoming
latchini@uwyo.edu
Douglas Lawton
PhD Student, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Douglas.Lawton@asu.edu
Mohammed Lazar
Doctor of Agronomy, National Institute of Plant Protection
lazar.mohammed@gmail.com
Marion Le Gall
Assistant Research Professor, Global Locust Initiative, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Marion.Le.Gall@asu.edu
Michel Lecoq
Former Director, French Agricultural Research Centre for International Development (CIRAD)
Omer Levy

Omer.levy@gmail.com
Marcos Gonçalves Lhano
Professor, Universidade Federal de Sao Carlos
marcosgl@ufscar.br
Jeffrey Lockwood
Professor of Natural Sciences and Humanities, University of Wyoming
lockwood@uwyo.edu
Marcelo Lopes da Silva
Researcher, Brazilian Agricultural Research Corporation
marcelolopesdasilva90@gmail.com
Koutaro Ould Maeno
Researcher, Japan International Research Center for Agricultural Services
otokomaeno@yahoo.co.jp
Tom Matheson
Reader in Neurobiology, Department of Neuroscience, Psychology and Behaviour, University of Leicester
tm75@le.ac.uk
Hector Medina
Coordinator, National Grasshopper and Locust Program, SENASA, Argentina
hmedina@senasa.gob.ar
Rob Melnick
Director, International Programs, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Rob.Melnick@asu.edu
480-965-5233
Annie Monard
Senior Officer and Team Leader, Locusts and Transboundary Plant Pests and Diseases, Food and Agriculture Organization
Annie.Monard@fao.org
(+39) 06 570 53311
Nathan Moses-Gonzales
Executive Partner and Chief Executive Officer, M3 Consulting Group
Geoffrey Osgood
Research Specialist, Global Locust Initiative, School of Sustainability/School of Life Sciences
gmosgood@asu.edu
Swidbert Ott
Reader in Animal Biology, Department of Neuroscience, Psychology and Behaviour, University of Leicester
so120@le.ac.uk
Rick Overson
Research Manager, Global Locust Initiative, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
rick.overson@asu.edu
Brittany Peterson
Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences, Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville
bripete@siue.edu
618-650-2453
Cyril Piou
Scientist, French Agricultural Research Centre for International Development (CIRAD)
cyril.piou@cirad.fr
Martina Pocco
Researcher, Centro de Estudios Parasitológicos y de Vectores
matinapocco@gmail.com
Mario Poot-Pech
Local Control Coordinator, Yucatán State Plant Protection Committee
mario.poot@cesvy.org.mx
Barani Raman
Professor, Biomedical Engnieering, Washington Univresity-St. Louis
barani@wustl.edu
Wilda Ramirez
Director, SENASA Argentina
wramirez@senasa.gob.ar
Chris Reuter
Biological Science Technician, Center for Plant Health Science and Technology, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, US Department of Agriculture
Chris.Reuter@usda.gov
Brian Robinson
Assistant Professor, Department of Geography, McGill University
brian.e.robinson@mcgill.ca
514-398-3453
Monica Roca
Head of Local Delegation, La Rioja, SENASA Argentina
mroca@senasa.gov.ar
Stephen Rogers
Research Scientist, University of Cambridge
smr34@cam.ac.uk
Elhadj Bocar Lemine Sakho
Chef Division Information acridienne, Centre National de Lutte Antiacridienne
bokhosa@hotmail.com
Ahmed Ali Samejo
Researcher, Entomology and Bio-Control Research Laboratory, Department of Zoology, University of Sindh
samejo_ali7@hotmail.com
Daniela Santos Silva
Doctor of Entomology
danielasantos.biology@gmail.com
Scott Schell
Extension Entomology Specialist, University of Wyoming Extension
sschell@uwyo.edu
Matan Shelomi
Assistant Professor and Head, Insect Microbiology Laboratory, Taiwan
mshelomi@ntu.edu.tw
Fariborz Shohrati
Plant Protection Special Education, Plant Protection Organization, Iran
shohratyfariborz@gmail.com
Stephen Simpson
Academic Director, Charles Perkins Centre Professor, School of Life and Environmental Sciences, The University of Sydney
stephen.simpson@sydney.edu.au
Hojun Song
Associate Professor, Department of Entomology, Texas A&M University
hsong@tamu.edu
Gregory Sword
Professor and Charles R. Parencia Endowed Chair in Entomology, Department of Entomology, Texas A&M University
gasword@tamu.edu
Stav Talal
Postdoctoral Researcher, Global Locust Initiative, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
stav.talal@gmail.com
Clara Therville
Postdoctoral Research Associate, Global Locust Initiative, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
cthervil@asu.edu
Baldwyn Torto
Principal Scientist and Head of Behavioural and Chemical Ecology, International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology
btorto@icipe.org
Mamour Toure
Assistant Professor, Gaston Berger University-St. Louis
touresnfst@yahoo.fr
Eduardo Trumper
Senior Researcher, Instituto Nacional de Tecnología Agropecuaria
trumper.eduardo@inta.gob.ar
Frank van Steenbergen
Director, MetaMeta
fvansteenbergen@metameta.nl
Jozef Vanden Broeck
Professor, Animal Physiology and Neurobiology Section of the Biology Department, University of Leuven
Reinier Veldman
Coordinator, SMART Centres and Flood-based Livelihood Network
rveldman@metameta.nl
Rik Verdonck
Postdoctoral Researcher, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
rik.verdonck@kuleuven.be
Heleen Verlinden
Postdoctoral Fellow, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
heleen.verlinden@kuleuven.be
Waqas Wakil
Assistant Professor, Entomology, University of Agriculture Faisalabad
waqaswakeel@hotmail.com
Haikou Wang
Locust Forecaster, Australian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources
Haikou.Wang@agriculture.gov.au
Cathy Waters
Senior Research Scientist, New South Wales Department of Primary Industries
cathy.waters@dpi.nsw.gov.au
Derek Woller
Entomologist, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture
Derek.A.Woller@usda.gov
Mira Word
Project Coordinator, Global Locust Initiative, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
mword@asu.edu
Andrea Wullenweber
Program Manager Research, Global Locust Initiative, School of Sustainability
Andrea.Wullenweber@asu.edu
Yoram Yerushalmi
Senior Lecturer, Technion Israel
yerushal@tx.technion.ac.il
Stephen Young
Entomologist, National Veterinary Services Laboratory
stephen.t.young@usda.gov
Jacob Youngblood
PhD Student, School of Life Sciences, Arizona State University
jpyoungb@asu.edu
Deanna Zembrzuski
PhD Student, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
dzembrzu@asu.edu
Long Zhang
Professor, Department of Entomology, Chinese Agricultural University
locust@cau.edu.cn