Skip to Content
People

People

People

Global Drylands Center Director

Osvaldo Sala
Distinguished Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Founding Director, Global Drylands Center
Julie A. Wrigley Chair in Life Sciences and Sustainability
Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Foundation Professor
480-965-4120
Osvaldo.Sala@asu.edu

Global Drylands Center Administration

Laureano Gherardi Arbizu
Senior Manager, Global Drylands Center
Instructor, School of Sustainability
Postdoctoral Research Associate, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
480-727-3726
Laureano.Gherardi@asu.edu

Courtney Currier
Manager, Global Drylands Center
Research Specialist, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
480-965-5575
Courtney.Currier@asu.edu

Kay Vasley
Operations Specialist, Global Drylands Center
Administrative Specialist, Professional Training and Custom Sustainability Education, School of Sustainability
480-965-7735
Kay.Vasley@asu.edu

Gail Petersen
Operations Advisory Consultant, Global Drylands Center
gail@gailpetersen.com

Global Drylands Center Executive Committee

Heather Throop
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Associate Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
480-727-2617
Heather.Throop@asu.edu

Ferran Garcia-Pichel
Dean, Division of Natural Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Professor, School of Life Sciences
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes
480-727-7534
Ferran@asu.edu

Sharon Hall
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Director, Environmental Life Sciences PhD Program
480-965-5650
sharonjhall@asu.edu

Enrique Vivoni
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
480-965-5228
vivoni@asu.edu

Paul Hirt
Senior Sustainability Scholar, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Professor, School of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
480-727-9084
Paul.Hirt@asu.edu