Skip to Content
People

People

People

Global Drylands Center Director

Osvaldo Sala
Founding Director, Global Drylands Center
Osvaldo.Sala@asu.edu
480-965-4120

Global Drylands Center Administration

Laureano Gherardi
Instructor, School of Sustainability
Laureano.Gherardi@asu.edu
480-727-3726
Paula Lorentz
Project Coordinator, Global Drylands Center, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Paula.Lorentz@asu.edu
480-727-4737

Global Drylands Center Executive Committee

Heather Throop
Associate Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Heather.Throop@asu.edu
480-727-2617
Ferran Garcia-Pichel
Professor, School of Life Sciences
Ferran@asu.edu
480-727-7534
Enrique Vivoni
Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
vivoni@asu.edu
480-727-3575
Paul Hirt
Professor, School of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Paul.Hirt@asu.edu
480-727-9084
Becky Ball
Associate Professor, School of Mathematical and Natural Sciences, New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
Becky.Ball@asu.edu
602-543-2010
Ronald Broglio
Associate Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Ronald.Broglio@asu.edu
Scott Collins
Distinguished Professor of Botany, Department of Biology, University of New Mexico
scollins@unm.edu

Center Affiliates

Joni Adamson
Professor, Environmental Humanities, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
joni.adamson@asu.edu
480-727-3675
Rimjhim Aggarwal
Associate Professor, School of Sustainability
Rimjhim.Aggarwal@asu.edu
480-965-6680
Michael Angilletta
Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
angilletta@asu.edu
480-965-3500
Steven Archer
Professor, School of Natural Resources and the Environment, University of Arizona
sarcher@email.arizona.edu
Robert Balling
Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
robert.balling@asu.edu
480-965-7533
Heather Bateman
Associate Professor, Faculty of Science and Mathematics, College of Integrative Sciences and Arts
heather.l.bateman@asu.edu
480-727-1131
Jayne Belnap
Research Ecologist, Southwest Biological Science Center, U.S. Geological Survey
jayne_belnap@usgs.gov
Stephanie Bestelmeyer
Executive Director, Asombro Institute for Science Education
stephanie@asombro.org
Renée Brown
Technical Research Scientist, Department of Biology, University of New Mexico
rfbrown@unm.edu
Stephen Bullock
Principal Researcher, Centro de Investigación Científica y de Educación Superior de Ensenada
sbullock@cicese.mx
Arianne Cease
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability
acease@asu.edu
Chingwen Cheng
Assistant Professor, The Design School, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
Chingwen.Cheng@asu.edu
Grisha Coleman
Associate Professor, School of Arts, Media and Engineering, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
Grisha.Coleman@asu.edu
James Collins
Virginia M. Ullman Professor of Natural History and the Environment, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
jcollins@asu.edu
480-965-4578
Thomas Day
Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
tadday@asu.edu
480-965-8165
Fabio de Albuquerque
Assistant Professor, Science and Mathematics Faculty, College of Integrated Sciences and Arts
Fabio.Albuquerque@asu.edu
480-727-5920
Dale DeNardo
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
denardo@asu.edu
480-965-3325
Pierre Deviche
Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
pierre.deviche@asu.edu
480-965-0726
Uttaran Dutta
Assistant Professor, Hugh Downs School of Human Communication, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Uttaran.Dutta@asu.edu
480-965-5095
David Eldridge
Professor, Evolution and Ecology Research Centre, University of New South Wales
d.eldridgeunsw.edu.au
Angela Ellsworth
Associate Professor, School of Art, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
angela.ellsworth@asu.edu
480-965-6173
Sabine Feisst
Professor, School of Music, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
Sabine.Feisst@asu.edu
480-965-3114
Scott Ferrenberg
Assistant Professor, Department of Biology, New Mexico State University
ferrenb@nmsu.edu
André Franco
Postdoctoral Researcher, Department of Biology, Colorado State University
andre.franco@colostate.edu
Nico Franz
Curator, Frank F. Hasbrouck Insect Collection, School of Life Sciences
Nico.Franz@asu.edu
480-965-2036
Nancy Grimm
Virginia M. Ullman Professor of Ecology, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
nbgrimm@asu.edu
480-965-4735
Kevin Gurney
Professor, School of Informatics, Computing and Cyber Systems, Northern Arizona University
kevin.gurney@nau.edu
Niall Hanan
Executive Committee and Co-Principal Investigator, Jornada Basin Long-term Ecological Research Project
nhanan@nmsu.edu
Erika Hanson
Assistant Professor, School of Art, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
Erika.Hanson@asu.edu
Hilairy Hartnett
Associate Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
H.Hartnett@asu.edu
480-965-5593
Arjun Heimsath
Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Arjun.Heimsath@asu.edu
480-965-5585
David Hondula
Assistant Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
david.hondula@asu.edu
480-965-4794
Adriene Jenik
Professor, School of Art, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
Adriene.Jenik@asu.edu
480-965-1696
Shai Kaplan
ASU-BGU Project Manager, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
shaike07@gmail.com
Kristian Kelley
Instructor, The Design School, Landscape Architecture, Herber Institute for Design and the Arts
Kristian.Kelley@asu.edu
Ann Kinzig
Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Ann.Kinzig@asu.edu
480-965-6838
Mark Klett
Regents Professor, School of Art, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
mklett@asu.edu
480-965-5367
Alan Knapp
Professor, Department of Biology, Colorado State University
aknapp@mail.colostate.edu
970-491-7010
Adam Lampert
Assistant Professor, School of Human Evolution and Social Change/Mathematical Computational & Modeling Science Center, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
adam.lampert@asu.edu
480-283-5498
Chuan Liao
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability
cliao29@asu.edu
Marcy Litvak
Professor, Department of Biology, University of New Mexico
m litvak@unm.edu
Fernando Maestre
Professor, Departamento de Biologia y Geologia, Fisica y Quimica Inorganica, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos
fernando.maestre@urjc.es
Lucas Majure
Biologist, New World Succulents, Desert Botanical Garden
lmajure@dbg.org
480-481-8129
Emilia Martins
Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Emilia.Martins@asu.edu
4809-965-0864
Yuval Mazor
Assistant Professor, School of Molecular Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Yuzal.Mazor@asu.edu
480-965-3221
Nate McDowell
Scientist, Earth Systems Analysis & Marketing, Pacifici Northwest National Laboratory
nate.mcdowell@pnnl.gov
Kevin McGraw
Affiliated Faculty, Center for Biodiversity Outcomes, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
Kevin.McGraw@asu.edu
Rodrigo Mendez-Alonzo
Tenured Investigator/Researcher, Plant Biology Laboratory, Department of Conservation Biology, Centro de Investigación Cientifica y de educación Superior de Ensenada
mendezal@cicese.mx
John Meunier
Emeritus Professor, The Design School, Architecture, Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts
John.Meunier@asu.edu
480-965-1038
John Moore
Director, Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory, Colorado State University
John.Moore@colostate.edu
Seth Munson
Research Ecologist, Southwest BIological Science Center, Northern Arizona University
smunson@usgs.gov
Soe Myint
Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
soe.myint@asu.edu
480-965-6514
Eduardo Pagan
Bob Stump Endowed Professor of History, School of Humanities, Arts and Cultural Studies, New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
Eduardo.Pagan@asu.edu
602-543-6081
Garth Paine
Senior Sustainability Scientist, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability
garth.paine@asu.edu
480-965-0972
William Parton
Senior Research Scientist, Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory, Colorado State University
William.Parton@colostate.edu
970-491-1987
Martin Pasqualetti
Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
pasqualetti@asu.edu
480-965-4548
Charles Perrings
Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
charles.perrings@asu.edu
480-727-0472
Debra Peters
Lead Principal Investigator, Jornada Basin Long-Term Ecological Research Project
debpeters@nmsu.edu
William Pockman
Professor and Departmental Chair, Department of Biology, University of New Mexico
pockman@unm.edu
505-277-2496
Charles Redman
Founding Director, School of Sustainability
charles.redman@asu.edu
480-965-2923
Sasha Reed
Research Ecologist, Southwest Biological Science Center, U.S. Geological Survey
screed@usgs.gov
Stephen Reynolds
President's Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
sreynolds@asu.edu
480-965-9049
Jennifer Rudgers
Associate Professor, Department of Biology, University of New Mexico
jrudgers@unm.edu
505-277-6185
John Sabo
Director, Future H2O, Knowledge Enterprise Development
John.L.Sabo@asu.edu
480-965-5904
William Schlesinger
Professor Emeritus, Science Program, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
schlesingerw@caryinstitute.org
Steven Semken
Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
semken@asu.edu
480-965-7965
Melinda Smith
Professor, Department of Biology, Colorado State University
melinda.smith@colostate.edu
203-432-9422
Kelly Steele
Associate Professor, The Polytechnic School, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
kelly.steele@asu.edu
480-727-1204
Juliet Stromberg
Professor (retired), School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
jstrom@asu.edu
480-965-0864
Brian Sullivan
Professor, Mathematics and Natural Sciences, New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
brian.sullivan@asu.edu
602-543-6022
Tal Svoray
Professor, Department of Geography and Environmental Development, Ben-Gurion University
tsvoray@bgu.ac.il
Jesse Taylor
Associate Professor, School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Jesse.E.Taylor@asu.edu
480-727-1736
Emma Tebbs
Lecturer in Physical Geography, Department of Geography, King's College London
emma.tebbs@kcl.ac.uk
Hava Tirosh-Samuelson
Director, Center for Jewish Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
hava.samuelson@asu.edu
480-965-7767
Colin Tucker
Research Ecologist, Southwest Biological Science Center, U.S. Geological Survey
ctucker@usgs.gov
Billie Turner II
Regents Professor and Gilbert F White Professor of Environment and Society, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Billie.L.Turner@asu.edu
480-965-1535
Ian Walker
Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
ianjwalker@asu.edu
480-965-5658
Diana Wall
Senior Research Scientist, Natural Resources Lab, Department of Biology, Colorado State University
Diana.Wall@colostate.edu
970-491-2504
Martin Wojciechowski
Associate Dean and Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Martin.Wojciechowski@asu.edu
480-727-7767
Jianguo Wu
Professor, School of Sustainability
Jingle.Wu@asu.edu
480-965-1063
Laura Yahdjian
Assistant Professor, Ecology Department, Faculty of Agronomy, University of Buenos Aires
yahdjian@agro.uba.ar