Skip to Content
People

People

People

As one of the largest and most innovative universities in the nation, ASU brings together faculty committed to sustainability solutions like no other university. Achieving sustainable food systems requires problem-solving teams who are infused with a diversity of expertise, eager collaboration and innovative spirit. Swette Center food system experts come from every corner of the university, including from the pool of more than 550 scientists and scholars who are dedicated to pursuing solutions, engagement, education and research for a sustainable future. Together, with public and private partners, we work on cutting edge science and policy.


Friends and thought partners for decades, we have crafted complex policy, coordinated global food security efforts, and charted the course for global food systems research while working together at the White House, USDA, U.S. Congress, and various international organizations. We’re thrilled to bring our combined energy and experience to ASU to drive food systems transformation.


 

Leadership

Kathleen Merrigan
Executive Director, Swette Center for Sustainable Food Systems
Kathleen.Merrigan@asu.edu
Suzanne Palmieri
Director of Strategic Initiatives, Swette Center for Sustainable Food Systems
Suzanne.Palmieri@asu.edu
202-601-4320
Debra Eschmeyer
Global Business Development Director, Swette Center for Sustainable Food Systems
Debra.Eschmeyer@asu.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Joshua Abbott
Associate Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Joshua.K.Abbott@asu.edu
480-965-5528
Joni Adamson
President's Professor, Environmental Humanities, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
joni.adamson@asu.edu
480-727-3675
Rimjhim Aggarwal
Associate Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Rimjhim.Aggarwal@asu.edu
480-965-6680
Marty Anderies
Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Marty.Anderies@asu.edu
480-965-8712
Julia Bausch
Postdoctoral Scholar, Kyl Center for Water Policy, Morrison Institute for Public Policy
jcbausch@asu.edu
Andrew Berardy
Postdoctoral Research Associate, Food Systems Transformation Initiative, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
aberardy@asu.edu
Yuqiang Bi
Assistant Research Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Yuqiang.Bi@asu.edu
Alexandra Brewis-Slade
President's Professor, School of Human Evolution and Social Change, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
alex.brewis@asu.edu
480-727-9879
Meg Bruening
Assistant Professor, School of Nutrition and Health Promotion, College of Health Solutions
Meg.Bruening@asu.edu
602-827-2266
Shauna BurnSilver
Assistant Professor, School of Human Evolution and Social Change, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Shauna.BurnSilver@asu.edu
480-965-7671
Peter Byck
Professor of Practice, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Peter.Byck@asu.edu
Arianne Cease
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
acease@asu.edu
Lauren Chenarides
Assistant Professor, Morrison School of Agribusiness, W.P. Carey School of Business
lauren.chenarides@asu.edu
480-727-1219
Netra Chhetri
Associate Professor, School for the Future of Innovation in Society, College of Global Futures
Netra.Chhetri@asu.edu
480-727 0747
Maria Cruz-Torres
Associate Professor, School of Transborder Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
maria.cruz-torres@asu.edu
480-965-8483
Mick Dalrymple
Director, University Sustainability Practices, Arizona State University
Michael.Dalrymple@asu.edu
602-321-7265
Shuguang Deng
Professor, School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
shuguang.deng@asu.edu
480-727-7238
Kathleen Dixon
Clinical Professor, College of Health Solutions
Kathleen.Dixon@asu.edu
602-496-1854
Stacia Dreyer
Assistant Research Professor, School for the Future of Innovation in Society, College of Global Futures
Stacia.Dreyer@asu.edu
Hallie Eakin
Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
hallie.eakin@asu.edu
480 727 7764
James Elser
Director, Sustainable Phosphorus Alliance
jelser@asu.edu
Jeffrey Englin
Professor, Morrison School of Agribusiness, W. P. Carey School of Business
Jeffrey.Englin@asu.edu
Chase Farnsworth
Senior Project Development Manager, Phoenix Office, Mortenson Company
chase.farnsworth@mortenson.com
Daniel Fischer
Assistant Professor of Sustainability Education, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
daniel.fischer.1@asu.edu
480-965-9622
Roberto Gaxiola
Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Roberto.Gaxiola@asu.edu
480-965-3337
Carola Grebitus
Assistant Professor, Morrison School of Agribusiness and Resource Management, W. P. Carey School of Business
Carola.Grebitus@asu.edu
480-727-4098
Rolf Halden
Director, Center for Environmental Health Engineering, Biodesign Institute
Rolf.Halden@asu.edu
480-727-0893
Sharon Hall
Professor, School of Life Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
sharonjhall@asu.edu
480-965-5650
Arjun Heimsath
Professor, School of Earth and Space Exploration, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Arjun.Heimsath@asu.edu
480-965-5585
Mark Henderson
Emeritus, Barrett, The Honors College
Mark.Henderson@asu.edu
480-727-1062
Renee Hughner
Associate Professor, Morrison School of Agribusiness, W. P. Carey School of Business
renee.hughner@asu.edu
480-727-1570
Marco Janssen
Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Marco.Janssen@asu.edu
480-727-7067
Carol Johnston
Associate Dean for Faculty Success and Professor, College of Health Solutions
CAROL.JOHNSTON@asu.edu
602-496-2539
Stavros Kavouras
Professor of Nutrition, College of Health Solutions
Stavros.Kavouras@asu.edu
602-827-2265
Jennifer Keahey
Assistant Professor of Sociology, School of Social and Behavioral Sciences, New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
jennifer.keahey@asu.edu
602-543-2897
Michael Kozicki
Professor, School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering, Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering
michael.kozicki@asu.edu
480-965-2572
Bryan Leonard
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Bryan.Leonard@asu.edu
Chuan Liao
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
cliao29@asu.edu
Joshua MacFadyen
Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair, Applied Communication, Leadership, and Culture, University of Prince Edward Island
jdmacfadyen@upei.ca
902-620-5142
Alex Mahalov
Dean's Distinguished Professor, School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Alex.Mahalov@asu.edu
480-965-0408
Mark Manfredo
Director and Professor, Morrison School of Agribusiness, W.P. Carey School of Business
manfredo@asu.edu
480-727-1040
Tennille Marley
Assistant Professor, American Indian Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Tennille.Marley@asu.edu
480-965-3634
Joan McGregor
Professor, School of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
joan.mcgregor@asu.edu
480-965-5028
Sara Meerow
Assistant Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Sara.Meerow@asu.edu
Clark Miller
Associate Director, Consortium for Science, Policy & Outcomes
clark.miller@asu.edu
480-965-1778
Ashok Mishra
Kemper and Ethel Marley Foundation Chair in Food Management, Morrison School of Agribusiness, W. P. Carey School of Business
Ashok.K.Mishra@asu.edu
480-727-1288
Sian Mooney
Associate Dean and Professor, New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences
Sian.Mooney@asu.edu
602-543-1031
Valerie Mueller
Assistant Professor, School of Politics and Global Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
vmuelle1@asu.edu
Rebecca Muenich
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
rebecca.muenich@asu.edu
480-965-1077
Punam Ohri-Vachaspati
Professor of Nutrition, College of Health Solutions
Punam.Ohri-Vachaspati@asu.edu
602-827-2270
Kristen Parrish
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
Kristen.Parrish@asu.edu
480-727-6363
Theodore Pavlic
Assistant Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
tpavlic@asu.edu
480-965-2899
Christopher Penton
Associate Professor, Faculty of Science and Mathematics, College of Integrative Sciences and Arts
crpenton@asu.edu
480-727-5738
Bruce Rittmann
Regents Professor, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
rittmann@asu.edu
480-727-0434
John Sabo
Director, Future H2O, Knowledge Enterprise Development
John.L.Sabo@asu.edu
480-965-5904
Lisa Schmidt
Instructor, School of Social Work, Watts College of Public Service and Community Solutions
lisa.r.schmidt@asu.edu
480-965-4568
Michael Schoon
Associate Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
michael.schoon@asu.edu
480-965-0919
Roseanne Schuster
Assistant Research Scientist, School of Human Evolution and Social Change, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
roseanne.schuster@asu.edu
480-727-0490
Milan Shrestha
Senior Lecturer, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Milan.Shrestha@asu.edu
480-965-7175
Anne Simmons-Benton
Executive Director, International Development, Knowledge Enterprise Development
anne.simmons-benton@asu.edu
202-847-4783
Christy Spackman
Assistant Professor, School for the Future of Innovation in Society
christy.spackman@asu.edu
Andreas Spanias
Director, SenSIP Center, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
spanias@asu.edu
480-965-1837
Daoqin Tong
Associate Professor, School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Daoqin.Tong@asu.edu
480-965-0504
Myla Vicenti Carpio
Director of Graduate Studies, American Indian Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
vicenti@asu.edu
480-727-7989
Juliann Vitullo
Associate Professor, School of International Letters and Cultures, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Juliann.Vitullo@asu.edu
480-965-4624
Zhihua Wang
Co-Director, Climate Systems Research, National Center of Excellence on SMART Innovations
zhwang@asu.edu
480-727-9592
Eric Welch
Director, Center for Science, Technology and Environment Policy Studies
EricWelch@asu.edu
Christopher Wharton
Assistant Dean of Innovation and Strategic Initiatives, Nutrition Program, School of Nutrition and Health Promotion, College of Health Solutions
christopher.wharton@asu.edu
602-496-1727
Corrie Whisner
Assistant Professor, College of Health Solutions
Corrie.Whisner@asu.edu
602-827-2261
Dave White
Deputy Director, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Dave.White@asu.edu
602-496-0154
Arnim Wiek
Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
arnim.wiek@asu.edu
480-965-2387
Amber Wutich
President's Professor, School of Human Evolution and Social Change, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Amber.Wutich@asu.edu
480-965-9010
Abigail York
Associate Professor of Governance and Public Policy, Center for Behavior, Institutions and the Environment, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Abigail.York@asu.edu
480-727-6889